BNAPS Book Description
  • BNAPS Online Resources

To order this book from BNAPS books Sales Agent Bill Longley, click on the book's price at right.

BNAPS books are available from:

Bill Longley
c/o Longley Auctions
PO Box 620
Waterdown, ON L0R 2H0

Book cover illustration

Newfoundland’s Last Definitives: The Waterlow Printings

C.A. Stillions
Released May 2019. Exhibit series # 104.
114 pages, 8.5x11, spiral bound.
Colour C$ 38.00 [ISBN 978-1-927119-98-3].

Newfoundland’s “Industries” definitive issue was released to the public on 2 January 1932. Consisting of 12 denominations, the stamps were created and printed by Perkins Bacon Company of London, England. When Perkins Bacon went bankrupt in 1935, W.W. Sprague and Company acquired its equipment and continued printing Newfoundland’s stamps using the original dies, plates, inks and paper. Sprague’s products cannot be distinguished from those of Perkins Bacon until 1938, when the successor company produced new stamp designs. These differences were detailed in C.A. Stillions’ Newfoundland’s Last Definitives: The Perkins Bacon and Sprague Printings. After Sprague’s printing plant was destroyed in a bombing raid on 10 May 1941, Waterlow and Company took over printing of the issue. This volume, Newfoundland’s Last Definitives: The Waterlow Printings, details the differences between stamps printed by Waterlow and those printed by its predecessors.

CA, as he is known to most philatelists, has collected stamps since childhood. What started as a Boy Scout project became a lifelong refuge from the demands and stresses of everyday life. He has collected Newfoundland stamps for just about as long. His displays of Newfoundland stamps have won numerous Gold medals. In 1985, he and several other Newfoundland collectors began the Newfoundland Study Group of BNAPS; CA served as its first chairman and newsletter editor. He was elected a member of BNAPS Order of the Beaver in 1989 and is a Fellow of the Royal Philatelic Society London. Closer to home, he has served as President, Secretary, and newsletter editor for the Washington (DC) Philatelic Society, and is currently President of the Washington Stamp Collectors Club. He served as Corporation Secretary for the international stamp show held in Washington, DC, in 2006.

Copyright © 2015 - 2020 The British North America Philatelic Society.
The documents on this website are for informational and non-commercial or personal use only.
Documents on this website shall not be used on other websites or for commercial purposes without permission.

This page was last modified on 2020-01-08.